East Brunswick Underage Drinking Defense Lawyer
New Jersey police, at least in the experience of many residents, are out to get youthful offenders. College and high school students often tell us that they are stopped for no apparent reason, other than they were riding in a car with other young people. If police find evidence of drugs or drinking, the consequences can be very high.
Any Trace of Alcohol is an Offense for Drivers Under 21
At the Law Offices of Jeffrey W. Goldblatt, Esq. in East Brunswick and Freehold, we provide aggressive defense against charges such as underage drinking in Middlesex and Monmouth counties. Attorney Jeffrey Goldblatt provides a free initial consultation to discuss your case and answer your questions.
What is Underage Drinking?
Underage drinking occurs when you are under 21 years of age and your BAC is .01 or higher. If your blood alcohol content (BAC) is .08, you will be charged with two offenses: under-aged drinking and DWI/DUI.
Underage drinking is a disorderly person’s offense and not a crime in New Jersey. However, it can still have serious consequences on your life. You will lose your driver’s license for 90 days for a first offense. A conviction can affect college scholarships and participation in extra curricular activities. A disorderly person’s offense will show on your record and be visible to colleges or employers who conduct a background check. However, you may be able to get an expungement to clear your record after a period of time.
Teenage Drinking Lawyer in Middletown, NJ
In addition to our weekly office hours, we offer evening and weekend appointments. If you or your child has been charged with drinking or underage drinking in Middlesex or Monmouth county, call 732-238-8700 or contact us online to schedule a consultation with attorney Jeffrey Goldblatt.